Killer serial

So, as  I become a bit more used to the madhouse my life has become I have found myself doing a little bit of writing here and there.  Nothing really awesome, but it is more to get back in the habit of writing than anything else.  A couple of things have been helping out here – I read Duma Key by Stephen King – it was definitely my favorite book by him and that is saying something.  I am reading Game of Thrones – on book 2 now, finished book 1 in a week which is an accomplishment that was helped only by being struck with the flu and confined to quarters as it were.  And, just to add a little something else to the mix, I have been listening to the HP Lovecraft Literary Podcast from HPPodcraft.com – I will add a bit about that a bit later but suffice it to say that even if you aren’t particularly a fan of Lovecraft, it is worth listening to just to get a greater understanding about what his life was like as he was writing the stories.

Anyway, as is always the case with me, the more I read, the more impulse I have to write.  Surrounding myself with this stuff and Eglentyne’s excellent blog (which has really been a life(sanity)saver – thanks Dani!) which brings me to the point of this 10 minute post (which is something I forgot that I had been doing and which is a great idea if I say so myself) – even I can shoehorn in 10 minutes.

So tell me, Patrick, what is the point of this post?  Well, getting back to what I was mentioning above with my impulse control disorder (aka writing) and having just heard a couple of the HP Lovecraft archived podcasts with a couple of his stories released as serials I have decided to do a serial right here on this very blog.  Not only will it get me back into the habit of writing but it will also get me back used to deadlines and just posting something even if it is horribly shitty.  The plan is to post some bit of fiction in a continuing storyline

So now you, gentle reader, if you can so be troubled to reply I have a couple of questions for you.  Do you have a preference on the day of the week which I post the new episode?  Second off, any preference for genre?  I am game for pretty much anything but if I don’t enjoy it it might just be a very short serial 😉

Also, just to set expectations, I am not planning on doing much in the way of editing on this unless it really takes off and I love it so it will be yours, warts of a first draft and all.  Well, as first draft as a notorious edit-as-I-write as I am.

Anyway, thanks for taking the time to read this, I find my 10 minutes are up.

3 thoughts on “Killer serial

  1. Any day of the week will be a step up from what you’ve been doing… but really… I would say a Wed distraction might be nice.

    I am a cyberpunk/mystery junkie… with a touch of “something higher.” If anyone ever said they read a story that was a cross of Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep and Enders Game, I would pick it up immediately. (Welcome back Pattie.)

Leave a Reply

