What do I have to be thankful for?

Picture my mom took

My mom took this picture on her vacation and I am using it without permission.

Ah Thanksgiving is just around the corner which is a nice reminder to be grateful.  Eglentyne is much cooler than I am and has been posting things every day in November that she is thankful for and here I am, the day before Thanksgiving phoning it in.  As an aside Dani, and all joking aside that is a really cool thing you have been doing – it is tempting for me to carry it on going forward.  Every single day there are so many things to be thankful for that one a day should be easy.  However, I also have the free time (and attention span) of a fruit fly on a banana plantation (does that make any sense at all?) so we’ll see how that goes.

And here is my list:

An awesome wife, two gorgeous daughters, friends who are far better than I deserve, ditto on the family, a good job that is challenging to me and letting me learn a ton of new things, a creative spirit, a quick mind, a healthy body, enough freedom to make choices that are bad for me, people who know that I love them and think of them even though I am lousy at staying in touch, that I got to spend the time with grandma and gramps that I did, that I wish I had spent more time with them, that I am lucky enough to have more than 1 family and the different perspectives that has given me even though I don’t remember any Spanish any more, my service in the Army and all of the people I was fortunate enough to know even if I didn’t realize it at the time, that I am an American, the grace of God, tales of redemption, that I lived long enough to see a zombie show on TV, the sunrise is beautiful, a clear day and blues skies that are beautiful, cloudy rainy beautiful days, the beauty of the night sky, the fact that I stumbled upon a Navajo prayer many years ago that quite literally changed the way I look at the world and which I leave to you, my friends.  Open your eyes to it and I swear you will see it.

Walk in beauty

In beauty may you walk.
All day long may you walk.
Through the returning seasons may you walk.
On the trail marked with pollen may you walk.
With grasshoppers about your feet may you walk.
With dew about your feet may you walk.

With beauty may you walk.
With beauty before you, may you walk.
With beauty behind you, may you walk.
With beauty above you, may you walk.
With beauty below you, may you walk.
With beauty all around you, may you walk.

In old age wandering on a trail of beauty,
lively, may you walk.
In old age wandering on a trail of beauty,
living again, may you walk.
It is finished in beauty.
It is finished in beauty.

3 thoughts on “What do I have to be thankful for?

  1. Thank you so much, Patrick. This is lovely. You, and your lovely wife, and your beautiful daughters are on my much, much longer list of things in this world that make me feel very grateful. Have a happy, happy, joyful Thanksgiving, and spread around a few hugs from me.

    Dani 🙂

Leave a Reply

