Dost thou love life? BF wasn’t BSing

Space Pen is spacey.

Space pen is spacey.

As the regular reader of this blog knows I am working on a renaissance of me.  Ben Franklin knew what he was talking about when he wrote “Dost thou love life? Then do not squander time, for that is the stuff life is made of.”

I am sad to say that it took me the better part of too many decades to realize the truth in this.  Now, I find myself scrambling around madly, like some hamster whose view of the world was the wheel he was treading who has been released into the wild by PETA commando team.  I am  not really sure where I am going and am only now realizing that I have been that way for a long time.  I want to do too many different things and that isn’t possible without an army of clones.

So, to that end, I have wasted endless hours scouring the internet for way of saving time and doing stuff better.  You might say, “Patrick, why not just spend all that time actually doing something?”  To which I would reply something less than flattering.  The true answer is, doing things as I have been doing them is no longer serving me.  Even if I were to do things, I would just do them in the old manner which would be pretty fruitless.

So, I am liking David Allen’s Getting Things Done http://www.davidco.com/ method from what I have read on the internet.  I still need to get the book – maybe this weekend if I get time between a wedding and moving.  Anyone tried this?  I’d love to hear your experiences.  I also stumbled on a clever little site called diy planner http://www.diyplanner.com/  and learned of a thing called the Hipster PDA http://www.43folders.com/2004/09/03/introducing-the-hipster-pda.  The first thing that comes to mind thinking of me is that I am not a hipster.  Still, I like the lo-fi experience and fitting it my back (or “hip” pocket if you will) is a big selling point.  Even better is the fact that it won’t break when I sit on it.  Plus it is 100% customizable.  I like being able to dump stuff on a card rather than obsessing over it or forgetting it or obsess over forgetting it.  Even cooler is the fact that my actual hipster friend Sean @elhump gave me a space pen http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000095K9D  for helping him out a while back.

I have my beta version which is ugly and already getting full.  I might invest some time in making it look cooler – I need more 3×5 cards – these were all the ones I could find so I might go the colored route.  I made really sexy front and back cover by writing Begin and End with green highlighter.  Anyway, this plan might just be crazy enough to work.

3 thoughts on “Dost thou love life? BF wasn’t BSing

  1. Or crazy enough to waste more of your time…

    Seriously though, this kind of inner exploration is great. Maybe you will figure something out about yourself you didn’t know… “I’ll touch your inner child”

  2. My favorite technique to read about when I should be writing is The Pomodoro Technique. Doesn’t it sound delicious? With some pasta and a a green salad?

    http://www.pomodorotechnique.com/

    No, I don’t do this. No I didn’t buy the book. Yes, I do use a timer to keep me moving forward, but I favor a 15-block.

    Do whatever propels you forward.

Leave a Reply

